West Indies Out Of Men’s T20 World Cup In 1st Round

West Indies cricket lose their must-win game against Ireland and therefore are out of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup happening in Australia.

After failing to book a direct spot in the Super 12 round of the tournament, West Indies team were drafted in group B of qualifying round. The group had Ireland, Scotland and Zimbabwe beside West Indies.

Windies were expected to qualify for the next round and were considered to pack a punch in the main round of the competition. However, that was not to be the case as they failed to win their group and also failing to qualifying as the second team from the group.

West Indies are considered a powerhouse in the shortest format of the game. They have always produced the best hitters in the T20 format, that of likes of Chris Gayle, Pollard, Russel, to name a few.

West Indies cricket are the most successful team in ICC T20 World Cup history; winning the title two times. No other team has won the title more than once.

West Indies first round exit is a surprise for many and a huge disappointment for the team’s fans. It is huge lose for the neutral fans as well as they are one of the most entertaining team when they are at their best.

West Indies finish 4th on the group B points table as Zimbabwe tops the group. Ireland finish second and qualify for the next round as Scotland are knocked-out as well.

West Indies had a difficult time with the bat against Ireland scoring only 146 in their 20 overs. Brandon King went onto score an unbeaten 62 of 48 balls, as Odean Smith provided a late surge in scoring rate with a quick 19 in 12 balls hitting a massive six that went 106 meters long.

West Indies top order struggles continued as Mayers and Lewis playing 23 balls for just 14 runs. Nicholas Pooran, the Windies captain’s poor form continued as he contributed 13 runs off 11 balls.

For Ireland, GJ Delany had a great game with the ball. He conceded only 16 runs in his quota of 4 overs taken 3 wickets.

In reply, Ireland top order batted brilliantly as they chased down the total with ease with 15 balls remaining and with the lose of only 1 wicket. It was convincing win for them and will boost their confidence going into the Super 12.

Paul Stirling scored a fine knock of 66 runs not out in 48 balls. A Balbirnie scored 37 with 23 runs and was the only wicket in Ireland inning to fell down. LJ Tucker (45 off 35 balls unbeaten) played a fine unbeaten partnership with Stirling and guided Ireland to the next round of the World Cup.

Ireland joins Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka in the group 1 of Super 12 round.

West Indies Record in T20 World Cup History

West Indies are the most successful team in ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup history as they are the only team to have won the title twice; in 2012 and 2016 editions.

Here is a quick look at their finishes in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup history:

  • 2007 – Group Stage
  • 2009 – Semi finals
  • 2010 – Super 8
  • 2012 – Champions
  • 2014 – Semi finals
  • 2016 – Champions
  • 2021 – Super 12
  • 2022 – First Round Exit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *